Open Menu

Environmental Youth Awards – Previous Winners

WINNER 2014 – WILTSHIRE, Dilton Marsh C of E Primary School

The Committee were extremely pleased to Welcome Her Royal Highness, Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall to present the 2014 award to the winners, Dilton Marsh C of E Primary School.

The School has developed a Whole School Environmental Awareness ethos that ensures sustainability, recycling and care for the environment are central to daily school life for every child.  The committee were impressed by the extraordinary way that the school encouraged an awareness of how our surroundings must be nurtured and encouraged positively.

The results of this hard work by pupils and staff was a flourishing environmental culture that made it possible for a range of projects and initiatives to gain momentum across the school.

Winner 2014_2

2014 County Finalists

BRISTOL, Headley Park Primary School

Eco Club at Headley Park Primary School gets involved in a range of environmental activities from growing plants from seed and then selling products at fund-raising events to encouraging sustainable school transport.

DORSET, Bridport County Primary School

The School’s Green Team has created a sensory garden with raised flower beds. The school has a strong environmental ethos and plans to produce its own green power through wind and solar.

SOMERSET, Monkton Combe School

The Sustainability at Monkton team organise campaigns, recycling initiatives and a weekly Environmental Community Service afternoon. The group, which is chaired and run by pupils has set-up a bee-keeping group, is reducing food waste and has promoted energy efficiency in School buildings.

Each County Finalist was presented with a cheque to the value of £250 with the overall winner receiving an additional £250 to further support their project.The award was kindly sponsored by HSBC.

Year Award County Presentation
2015 Ram’s Head Bristol Lord Fellowes
2014 Hobby Wiltshire HRH The Duchess of Cornwall
2013 Otter Somerset Lady Elwes
2012 Regional Trophy All Sir David Wills
2011 Ram’s Head Wiltshire Dr Hemplemann-Adams
2010 Otter Somerset HRH The Countess of Wessex
2009 Swan Bristol HRH The Prince of Wales
2008 Badger Bristol Lord Waldegrave
2007 Otter Bristol & Somerset HRH The Duke of Kent
Year Award County Presentation
2006 Bat Wiltshire High Sheriff of Somerset
2005 Otter Dorset Lord King
2004 Hobby Somerset Bishop of Bath & Wells
2003 Fox Bristol Mrs Angela Yeoman
2002 Badger Bristol HRH The Duke of Gloucester
2001 Hare Somerset Lord Lieutenant of Avon
2000 Swan Bristol Lord Lieutenant of Somerset
1999 Hare Somerset Duke of Somerset
1998 Swan Dorset Earl of Selborne

If your school or youth group based in Bristol, Dorset, Somerset or Wiltshire would like to take part in the Environmental Youth Award please click here